By 2005, the desire to grow and expand membership in the Comal County Republican Men’s Club lead to redefining its profile.  During the last meeting under the name of "Men's Club", decisions were made to change the bylaws.  The revisions that followed enabled both men and women to be admitted into membership and further authorized any member to serve as an officer or board member.  These bylaw revisions energized the motivations of local enthusiats to join.  Upon the events of 2005, approximately 20 couples began as founding members.  As a result of the popularity of a synergistic administration, membership in The Republican Club of Comal County began to expand.  Although the newly orgainized Club held hope that all members of the former Men's Club would continue participating, regretfully, some did not, slowly drifting away. 

The history of the newly-formed Republican Club of Comal County Presidency notes several prominent, partirotic residents of the territory.  As each president added their unique ideas, the club became stronger.  Our presidents have all been conservative patriots, and the uniqueness of our club unites the entire county with members from all parts of Comal.

The Republican Club of Comal County was the first club to present a check from the proceeds of our fundraising efforts to the county party.  We also had the privilege to list one of our past presidents, Sonja Harris, as Senate District 25 Volunteer of the Year in 2015 by the Republican Party of Texas.  Our past presidents have been delegates to the state and national conventions.  Many of the members serve as Precinct Chairs and poll workers during elections.  The Republican Club of Comal County is a vibrant and an active club!

James Boyd Sonja Harris billharris Luke Macias
donjohnson donhensz billharris Mary Lou Erben


The first president was James “Hoss' Boyd, a former member of the previous Republican Men’s Club.  Boyd served as President from 2005-2006. 

Sonja Harris was elected as the second President of The Comal County Republican Club.  Harris served as President for two terms, 2006-2007 and 2007-2008. 

Bill Harris, husband of Sonja, then served as president from 2008-2009, followed by Luke Macias from 2009-2010. 

Pam Ridlehuber (2010-2011) served as the fifth President. 

Don Johnson then served for two terms, from 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. 

Former County Chair, Don Hensz, was elected for the term of 2013-2014.  President Hensz resigned due to ill health, which  passed the Office to then Vice President, Bill Harris, the earlier President. 

Mary Lou Erben became president in 2014-2015 and was re-elected for a second term 2015-2016.

Monday the 20th. © The Monticello Group.